First Presbyterian Church

302 Summit Street | Winona, Miss. | 662.283.2487

Church Officers

The Bible teaches that when Christ ascended on high, He gave gifts to men (Eph. 4). Among those gifts are the officers He gives to care for, shepherd, and govern His church. The Bible speaks of two kinds of church officers: Elders and Deacons.

The elders are called by God to oversee and tend the spiritual needs of Christ's people in the Church; the elders of the congregation meet in a church court called the Session. The deacons are called by Christ to tend the physical needs of His people such as collecting the offering, ministry to the poor, and care of the church building.

The Session

Ryan Biese, Moderator

Terry Howard, Clerk

James Hunger

George Weaver

John Rigby

Jerry Hoover

John Sumner

The Diaconate

Steve Brown, Chairman

Juston Herbert, Clerk

Joe Hudson

Jamie Hudson

Renford Lucas

John Luke Weaver, Deacon Emeritus